Another sleepless night so we have packed up and moved over to the Vatican. Thank god we only booked for 2 of the 5 nights we are in Rome. I can't wait to do my review on this hotel.
New hotel and room the size of a postage stamp is just around the road from Vatican City. Seems nice enough and juice and quiet.
We had a good look around this morning and wandered along the Trevere river to the castle Sant Angelo fortress a very impressive structure that various popes used to hide from their enemies. When we arrived there was a parade being organized of different horses and horsemen their were people everywhere so we walked along with them. It was great and there were people and tv cameras everywhere. I think every policeman had turned out for it.behind the parade were 3 road sweepers that swept up the horse shit.
The procession stopped at yet another beautiful building and we were wandering around for a while befor we realised we were in St. Peter's sq at the Vatican. We still don't know what the parade was for people just said a celebration.
I had been looking for a post office for days and there was a mobile Vatican post... Perfect.
We had this nice meal in a place that was very weird and my watchful eye could not work out what was going on. There were at least 20 police that came and went through the restaurant as well as dodgy looking dudes getting little parcels from under the desk. I summised some drug deals were going on with the cops in on it. Made for an interesting lunch, people watching action. In this same restaurant I went down the stairs to the toilets and opened the door to be face with a dilemma.
2 doors with Italian labels and no pictures. I hadn't brought my phone down so I couldn't google. I poked my head in one and it looked tidy so I thought it would be the womens went to sit down and realised the seat was up.... So quickly shot out the door and into the other one! Embarrassment avoided. I just had to shoot back down for a picture.
Now back to lunch a beautiful creamy pasta that was soooo good until... We got back to the hotel and I got really sick. I had indigestion so bad I was nearly sick. I got cold and felt terrible so I retreated to my bed and have woken back up 5 hours later feeling a bit better.










No comments:
Post a Comment